Here’s Looking At You

Give them a good night out.

While Carey and I were at New River Fellowship church Sunday, our friend Lainie invited us to join her and 17 others to her birthday celebration at the Bunganut Pig for supper, then to see the movie Casablanca at the newly remodeled Franklin Theater.

Conversation at supper was spirited and Spiritual and the theater was beautiful. But the movie surprised me.

Most of our group, including Carey and me, had never seen the movie all the way through. I have seen snippets of it in movie tributes, but as Carey said, it seems like it kind of skipped our generation.

What surprised me is that it is still a great movie – fast paced, exciting, funny, and romantic. I had always heard it was a great movie. It won the Academy Award for Best Picture in 1942.

And every ten years the American Film Institute (AFI) puts together a jury of 1,500 film artists, critics and historians to determine the greatest movies of all time. According to them, Casablanca is still the third greatest movie of all time, right behind Citizen Kane and The Godfather.

While watching the movie, I knew many of the lines but there were many phrases that I have used and hear used today that I didn’t know came from the movie.

In fact, the movie has 6 of the most memorable movie quotes of all time (also from AFI.) That’s twice as many memorable quotes as any other movie on their list.

You probably know them: “Here’s looking at you, kid,” “Louis, I think this is the beginning of a beautiful friendship,” “Play it, Sam. Play ‘As Time Goes By,’” “Round up the usual suspects,” “We’ll always have Paris,” and “Of all the gin joints in all the towns in all the world, she walks into mine.”

I have long thought of these phrases as clichés, but hearing them in context gives me a whole new understanding. It is kind of like the difference between just reading or hearing a Bible verse and living it out – in every day life.

One character in the movie gives a synopsis of the film when he describes Rick, the main character, as a man “torn between love and virtue.” I’m thankful that most of my choices don’t pit those two forces against each other. I’m thankful that God is love and God is virtue. And that Godly love is virtuous.

And I’m thankful that Lainie invited us to yet another perfect and romantic evening – this one shared with over a dozen almost strangers who are now friends.

You can’t remove all the need in the world today, but there are lots of ways you can help. You don’t have to run a gin joint in Morocco to begin a beautiful relationship.

2 thoughts on “Here’s Looking At You

  1. You and Carey’s story could make a Top 10 movies of all time list for sure!!! Thanks for joining me in the celebration and I may go work on a screenplay of that movie now:) Lainie

Leave a Reply

