Communionity

Give them Community. Carey and I heard a podcast this week in which the pastor said he knew someone who started taking communion every day and started looking younger each week.

Carey asked me, “Do you want to start taking communion with me every day?”

It seemed like she was only half kidding, so I said, “Yes, I want to take communion with you every day.”

And in another sermon, we were reminded that in Genesis 1:26 God said, “Let Us make man in Our image, according to Our likeness.”

The “Us” in “Let Us” is the Trinity: Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

This is reiterated in John 1, starting with verse 1: “In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. He was in the beginning with God.”

Jesus is the Word and everything was created by God’s Word. God has been community since before there was time.

I want to be like God, I don’t want to be God.

I don’t know that I’ve gotten much better at community than I was in May 2014 (see “Community” at EveryDayIsPrecious.com.)

I built a fire pit in our back yard during this last summer. But I never volunteered to actually use it until a couple of weeks ago, when Carey asked me if I wanted to have a bonfire. I didn’t. But I knew I was supposed to. So I said, “Yes.”

Technically, I guess that doesn’t really count as volunteering.

There were 25 or 30 people, ten or twelve of which were eight years old and younger, playing with fire in our back yard. To give myself some grace, I didn’t hate it.

And, finally, or at least, Lord I hope it is my last one: An unfinished bonus room over the garage came with our house. Last weekend Carey said we were supposed to start finishing this room, so we bought over 550 square feet of batten insulation to start that project.

I didn’t want to. Somehow I know it is going to lead to more people coming to our house more often.

The very first communion was in an upper room the night before Jesus went to the cross. When He really knew that He was about to come into His destiny, when He was at His peak on Earth, just before He went back to sit at the right hand of God, what did He do?

He served the people He discipled by washing their feet.

Lord, I want an Upper room experience every time I park under that room over our garage, every time I hammer a nail, every time someone walks past it, every time I think of it, every time I serve and receive communion in it.

Yes, Lord, I want to take communion with You every day.

You can’t remove all the need in the world today but there are lots of ways you can help. Ask God to show you how to dwell in community today.

Leave a Reply

