Are You Head and Shoulders Above?

Give Them Head and Shoulders.

I had a motorcycle wreck ten or twelve years ago.

Thankfully, it wasn’t much of a wreck as far as motorcycles go. I was in a gravel parking lot, late to a meeting, and used the front brake to slow down. I lost control of the bike and fell on my left shoulder. I had a few bumps and bruises for a little while.

After it healed originally, it didn’t hurt. But it started hurting again a few months ago.

At first I thought it was because I’m getting older. I pictured myself saying things that I’ve seen older men in movies say, like, “My bursitis is acting up again.” Or, “My rheumatism tells me there’s a storm coming in.”

But I don’t want to claim any disease as mine.

The other morning it felt like my shoulder was starting to hurt more – I thought it might be getting worse. About ten minutes later, Carey asked me to sit down and talk.

She said she felt like I was building a wall – that I was closing her off.

I didn’t know I was building a wall, but when I said that out loud, it felt like I was. I didn’t close her off, we continued talking. Pretty quickly it came to light that I had created another, deeper area where I was resisting a Spirit of community.

Then I remembered a message from a podcast I had heard the week before.

Part of the message said that we separated from God in the Garden of Eden and the enemy took that separation and ran with it. The enemy wants us to feel separated, alone, and does everything he can to reinforce that feeling of separation.

That’s why separation feels like the norm to us. Even though it is not right, it feels normal.

In Ira Milligan’s book “Understanding the Dreams You Dream,” the shoulder is said to often represent “bearing” – as in bearing a burden.

And Isaiah 9:6 reads: “For unto us a Child is born, Unto us a Son is given; And the government will be upon His shoulder. And His name will be called Wonderful, Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace.”

He is the Burden Bearer.

I chose to turn 180 degrees and prayed, “Lord, help me want to be more connected. Thank you for all the connections you have given me and thank you for the burdens you bear for me.”

I felt warmth on – and in – my left shoulder, then my shoulder stopped hurting as I cast off that burden.

You can’t remove all the need in the world today but there are lots of ways you can help. Ask God what He wants to show you in your circumstance today.

Leave a Reply

