Give them Love..

My wife Carey is much smarter than I am, but sings the wrong words with almost every secular song she sings.

I don’t know if she heard secular songs wrong the first time, just didn’t pay attention, or knew they had little spiritual value.

I, on the other hand, have filled my head with way too many useless song lyrics. “Jeremiah was a bullfrog. Was a good friend of mine.”

I even have old television commercial lyrics rattling around in my head. “Plop, plop, fizz, fizz, oh, what a relief it is.”

I’m guessing all that is from my early days of too much of this world’s culture and not enough of God’s Word.

A few weeks ago Carey asked me, “Remember the old song that goes, ‘Let your love flow . . .?‘” – and that’s all she could remember of the song. I remembered the 1976 Bellamy Brothers song and was able to quickly find it on YouTube on my phone.

She was surprised that it was right at our fingertips and she played it a few times – it has now become an anthem for us.

Not long after, Carey and I went to a Fall Festival in Knoxville with our son Nathan, Ashley, and their three boys.

On the way back to Nathan and Ashley’s house, I sat next to three-month-old Sawyer in the middle seat of their minivan.

Sawyer wasn’t fussing. I’m not even sure he was awake. But it felt like God told me to reach over to Sawyer, so I did.

Sawyer wrapped his little fingers around my index finger.

I had just heard a podcast about the woman with the issue of blood who reached out in faith to touch Jesus’ garment (Matthew 9:20.)

The pastor said he didn’t know how Jesus could even know a specific person had touched Him – the Bible says the crowd was pressing in on Jesus and there were dozens of people touching Him. Literally everyone was touching Him.

As Sawyer held my finger in the middle of that Odyssey, I felt something flowing from me into Sawyer. And as it was flowing out, it was also refilling me to overflowing with warmth and love.

That reminded me of a few verses of “Let Your Love Flow:”

“Just let your love flow like a mountain stream; And let your love grow with the smallest of dreams; And let your love show and you’ll know what I mean; It’s the season”

“Let your love fly like a bird on a wing; And let your love bind you to all living things; And let your love shine and you’ll know what I mean; That’s the reason.”

Maybe very few secular songs are useless. I have seen firsthand that God can use all things for His purposes.

You can’t remove all the need in the world today but there are lots of ways you can help. Ask God where your love can flow today.

millerboys16halloween

Leave a Reply

