Give them Perspective.

Our daughter Lindsey’s birthday party is always interesting.

One year she requested that no one bring presents. Then she gave each attendee a present, instead of receiving presents.

This year, she invited us to her 1980’s birthday party. I dressed as Sonny Crockett (Don Johnson) from the 1984 to 1989 TV series “Miami Vice.” Though I don’t remember ever watching an episode of the show, Don Johnson’s “look” was a big part of the eighties to me.

Lindsey said the eighties meant big hair and bright colors. Carey always has big, beautiful hair. All she had to do was add the bright colors, an off-the-shoulder shirt, and leggings. She looks better than Jennifer Beals in Flashdance.

I thought the Don Johnson look would be more cool than simple bright colors would, though I did wear a bright colored shirt. I kept sunglasses on all night to be even more cool.

For the most part the party was outside. So I have to admit stumbling around in the dark wearing sunglasses took away from what little cool I may have had.

After having to tell a few people who I was supposed to be, I realized eighty-five percent of the people there were not even in school yet when Miami Vice first aired. No one was old enough to remember the eighties.

I guess the way we see things and people depends greatly on the filter through which we look at them.

That leads me to a November 10, 2016 posting on GlenBeck.com titled “What a Gay, Muslim, Pakistani-American Immigrant Learned Traveling to Rural Alaska the Week Before the Election.”

The author says, in part, “If a group of twenty idiotic Trump supporters yells ethnic slurs, is the entire stadium ‘racist’ by association? No. If a Black Lives Matters supporter says it’s ‘open season on whites’ is that a true representation of the movement? No. Should I be viewed with suspicion because I am a Muslim and some are terrorists? No.”

The author continues, “I think a key part of beginning to heal is realizing Trump is not his supporters. Who he is and how he campaigned are truly distasteful to me. But his supporters are not him. They voted for a variety of reasons that are important and personal to them.”

I know the filter through which I want to see the world. I want to see the world through Jesus’ eyes.

I know that God loves me because I have experienced His love. I know that I didn’t do anything to earn that Love – I only have it by His Grace. And I know that God loves you, whatever filter you have.

As a disciple of Jesus, you may think I start with a bias. I am likely to invite you to join me, but I won’t hate you if you don’t. I will do my best to understand your point of view.

You can’t remove all the need in the world today but there are lots of ways you can help. Ask God how you can hear His point of view today.

80spartyflashdancehor

One thought on “Are You Biased?

Leave a Reply

